Just another WordPress.com site

1)I think some of the abstract ideas in my novel are Liesels school, and also the soccer ball. I think Liesels school is an abstract idea because it is where she got laughed at because when she offered to read, she couldn’t because she didn’t really know how. After this situation, Liesel was determined to learn how to read so she could read in class.

I think the soccer ball is another abstract idea because when Liesel started playing soccer she made a friend that became her best friend, Rudy. In the story Liesel and Rudy play soccer a lot so I believe it’s the game of soccer and the soccer ball itself that made them become friends.

2) I think the author chose to use the symbol of the school because when Liesel is determined to learn how to read, she asks her foster dad, Hans Hubermann to help her to read at her own pace. I think because she learned how to read with Hans’ help, their bond grew.

I think the author chose the symbol of the soccer ball because it was a way for Liesel to make friends. Liesel and Rudy became friends quickly after their first soccer game so I think it symbolises a new start for Liesel because she found someone new to be friends with.

I think these symbols were effective because they were not obvious symbols you had to really think about it. An obvious symbol would be a book Liesel stole. These symbols I chose were not really a main topic in the story but they do show qualities of Liesel that create her as a person

 

Leave a comment